top of page
Search
  • alvo7788

Reading Blog #3

In this article, the author speaks about early internet art and everything that came along with it. I find it extremely interesting that artists were creating entire art exhibits online. I feel like in recent years, to my knowledge, artists do not do this. In all of my internet browsing, I have never landed on an interactive art piece. I did not know that creating art pieces on their own sites was even a thing. I remember when COVID-19 hit and museums turned to the digital forum so art lovers could still see and interact with exhibits. I thought that this was some type of breakthrough for the art community, to be able to browse through art and interact with it on a museum's website. However, artists have been doing this for years. I find it really interesting that when women tried to bring feminism to the early internet art world, they were told to go to more girl-oriented websites. This made me upset because feminism and women empowerment were huge movements during that time, so I thought that feminism-based net art would be more welcomed in that community. This goes to show that the internet has always been used as a place to not only gain control over others but also deceive and berate others. Overall, I find it extremely interesting how artists took advantage of the internet and created all different types of places for fine art on the internet. I think it is really cool that there were so many different forums and sites for them to use, each serving a different style or niche.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Artist Statement #4

For this webventure, I was inspired by the myscene.com games that I used to play when I was younger. I wanted to create an experience that was reminiscent of those games. Additionally, I have always t

Project 3 Artist Statement

For this project, I made a short video inspired by how I don't smoke anymore but want to. In the beginning, I filmed it in a That 70's Show style of filming with me and my friends debating if I should

bottom of page